IT Certification Profile: Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD): Web and SharePoint Applications

January 12, 2016

Each month we highlight an IT certification with our IT Certification Profile blogs, and this month we are featuring Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD) with specialties in Web and Share Point skills. The ability to innovate, design, and develop are skills that are highly sought after in the tech talent pool and these abilities can be mastered by someone who has passed the exams to obtain an MCSD.

If you are a developer with the skillset or the desire to design enterprise solutions using Microsoft languages, continue reading on below as we share more about this certification, exam information, and more resources to help navigate you through the process of obtaining this certification!

What is MCSD?

Ranked in the Fifteen Top Paying Certifications for 2013, this certification provides an enhanced creditability for IT professionals who design and build application solutions. This certification is for you if you are a developer seeking to demonstrate your expertise and expand your knowledgebase with Microsoft languages and development tools! Take a look at The Real Reason Developers Should Get Certified blog shared on Microsoft.

To be recognized for your expertise increating and deploying modern web applications and services, an MCSD: Web Applicationsvalidates you as a web developer or web administrator, while MCSD: SharePoint Applications exemplifies your knowledge of designing and developing collaboration applications. A candidate must have a foundation of web programming skills using HTML5, ASP.NET MVC, and JavaScript to obtain this certification.

Certification Process

Each individual exam costs $150.00 USD.  The MCSD certification does require a recertification exam every two years. Please visit the Exam policies and FAQ site for additional information. Each certification page also lists additional options, optional training courses available and a course overview, course details, and prerequisites for each. These may be helpful during exam preparation!

Web Applications Steps

Candidates must pass the following three exams:

  1. Programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3 exam
  2. Developing ASP.NET MVC Web Applications exam
  3. Developing Microsoft Azure and Web Services exam

SharePoint Steps

Each candidate must pass the following four exams with options for the first two foundational exams. Initially you will confirm your core programming skills and then advance to specifics in SharePoint applications.

  1. Programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3 exam
  2. Developing ASP.NET MVC Web Applications exam
  3. Developing Microsoft SharePoint Server 2013 Core Solutions exam
  4. Developing Microsoft SharePoint Server 2013 Advanced Solutions exam

According to Global Knowledge, “Before considering the MCSD: SharePoint Applications certification path, you should also have at least one to two years of experience developing with HTML in an object-oriented, event-driven programming model.”

Microsoft continues to stay current on news, study materials, and certification updates on their blog site Born to Learn. Visit the blog page and join some of their discussions, or post questions that may not be listed. Here is a blog regarding the MCSD: Web Applications exam/certification update posted in 2014.

Also, check out our other certification profiles! 

Some description

Posted By: Anastasia Hoosman


No comments yet. Be the first!

Your Comment:

*This will not be displayed.