Skip to content

IT Certification Profile: ITIL Expert Certification

April 29, 2014

Interested in demonstrating superior knowledge of the Information Technology Infrastructure Library Schema? Then, you might want to consider looking into become ITIL Expert Level certified!

About ITIL

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a set of practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business. ITIL describes processes, procedures, tasks and checklists that are not organization-specific, used by an organization for establishing integration with the organization’s strategy, delivering value, and maintaining a minimum level of competency. It allows the organization to establish a baseline from which it can plan, implement and measure. Also, ITIL is used to demonstrate compliance and to measure improvement.

Who Should Consider this Certification?

Any IT professional, IT manager, or consultant that wants or needs to develop an understanding of key functions and processes of ITIL should look at becoming ITIL Expert certified.


Those who are interested in receiving an ITIL Expert certification must meet the following requirements:

  • All candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation certificate or a Bridge qualification equivalent.
  • A total of 17 credits minimum must be achieved from Foundation and Intermediate modules before the Managing Across the Lifecycle module can be taken. Some credits from earlier qualifications and complementary qualifications can count towards the 17 credits which are prerequisite for that particular module as well.
  • The Managing Across the Lifecycle module must be taken and passed once 17 credits have been earned to achieve a total of 22 credits minimum required for ITIL expert.
  • Candidates should achieve a balanced knowledge base across the full ITIL service lifecycle.

Good news is that there is no exam to take and can be completed in 50 hours! Candidates who achieve ITIL Expert level will also satisfy the pre-requisite entry criteria for the ITIL Master Level – the highest level of certification within the ITIL scheme.

What You’ll Learn

  • Concepts of service management as a practice
  • Service lifecycle at the core of ITIL
  • General concepts, definitions, key principles, and models of ITIL
  • Service management processes and functions that contribute to the service lifecycle
  • Objectives, scope, concepts, activities, key performance indicators (KPIs), roles, and challenges for all the ITIL processes
  • How technology enables the service lifecycle and how other complimentary guidance aligns with ITIL
  • Implementation considerations
  • Activities, methods, and functions used in each of the Lifecycle processes
  • Application of the processes, activities, and functions to achieve operational excellence
  • How to measure performance
  • Technology and implementation requirements
  • Challenges, critical success factors, and risks involved in implementing and improving service management

Cost & Benefits

So, whenever considering becoming certified, you need to evaluate how much and in what ways it can benefit your career. The average cost of ITIL Expert certification is between $500 and $2,000; yet, it can boost your salary between $20,000 – $30,000 a year. ITIL isn’t just about improving your financial standing or career objectives; it’s about gaining intimate knowledge of IT infrastructure in a way that allows you to better serve the interests of all involved parties.

For more information, visit ITIL.

Would you consider becoming ITIL Expert certified? Why or why not?

Posted By: Danielle Toste


No comments yet. Be the first!

Your Comment:

*This will not be displayed.