Skip to content

IT Certification Spotlight: Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

IT Certification Spotlight: Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

June 03, 2015

This month we’re highlighting the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) certification for those who are interested in learning more! The CISM is a certification, awarded by the ISACA, for information security managers who are looking to deepen their knowledge and further their skills within the information security field.  Ranked as number two on the Global Knowledge list of the 15 Top-Paying IT Certifications for 2015, this certification was created with the intent of providing a common body of knowledge for IS managers with a special focus on information risk management.  Read on to find out more about what you need to know…

Why Pursue It?

Aside from the fact that it may help get you that bump in salary that you’ve been wanting, the CISM is a globally
recognized achievement that more than 23,000 people have earned since the certification was established in 2002. Obtaining this certification proves that you are committed to enhancing your expertise and that not only do you understand the technical side of information security, but you also understand the impact upon the business which is a highly sought after quality within IT, in general.

CISM Prerequisites

This certification is designed for security professionals with a bit of experience under their belts. To obtain the CISM certification you must meet the following criteria:

  • 5 years of security experience, with at least 3 years in an information security manager role (There are some substitutions for this requirement which can be found here.)
  • Pass the CISM Examination
  • Adhere to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics
  • Comply with the CISM Continuing Education Policy which includes maintenance fees ($45 or $85 annually depending on whether or not you’re an ISACA member) and a minimum of 20 CPE contact hours annually and 120 total CPE hours over a 3 year period
  • Submit an application for CISM certification

The Exam

The exam is comprised of two hundred multiple choice questions and is administered three times a year (June, September, and December) and the cost ranges from $420 to $725 depending on how early you register and whether or not you’re a member of ISACA. The exam focuses on four main functional areas of information security. These areas include Information Security Governance, Information Risk Management and Compliance, Information Security Program Development and Management, and Information Security Incident Management.

A passing score on the CISM exam will only be valid for five years if the applicant doesn’t have the required work experience and does not meet the those minimum requirements within that five year period. In the event that the work experience is not met, the passing score will be voided.

We hope you found this month’s IT certification profile to be helpful. To learn more or to register for the exam, please visit the ISACA website.

Check out our more IT certifications profiles like this here

Posted By: Briana Perrino


No comments yet. Be the first!

Your Comment:

*This will not be displayed.