Skip to content

Top 5 IT Certifications for 2014

January 14, 2014

The following are some of the most talked-about, fastest growing IT certifications available. They are predicted to be the most valuable certifications for IT professionals in the upcoming year.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

The CRISC is obtained through ISACA and “is awarded to those experienced in business and technology risk management, and the design, implementation, monitoring and maintenance of IS control.” To obtain this certification you must pass the CRISC exam, have at least three years of cumulative experience performing the tasks of a CRISC professional across at least three CRISC domains, adhere to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics, and meet the terms of the CRISC Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Policy. According to “premium pay for this ISACA certification has risen 9.1 percent in the last three- and six-month periods.” Learn more about the CRISC certification Here.

CWNP Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP)

The CWSP certification is a professional level wireless LAN certification for the CWNP Program. The certification is increasing in value because it ensures that you have the skills to successfully secure enterprise Wi-Fi networks from hackers. To earn the CWSP certification you must pass two exams. CWNP also offers the Certified Wireless Network Expert (CWNE) certification, a more advanced certification for which the CWSP certification is a prerequisite. Learn more about the CWSP certification Here, and the CWNE certification Here

GIAC Certified Forensics Analyst (GCFA)

The GCFA certification is for “professionals working in the information security, computer forensics, and incident response fields.” The certification focuses on the “core skills required to collect and analyze data from Windows and Linux computer systems.” To obtain the GCFA certification you must pass an exam, and the certification must be renewed every four 

years. The GCFA certifies that you have the knowledge, skills, and ability to conduct formal incident investigations and handle advanced incident handling scenarios. Learn more about the GCFA certification Here.

HP/Accredited Solutions Certification

These certifications have seen gains of at least 9 percent over the last two quarters, and are predicted to continue with this trend. These certifications include HP/Accredited Solutions Expert (ASE – all), HP/Master Accredited Solutions Expert (MASE – all), HP/Master Accredited Systems Engineer (Master ASE). There are HP ExpertOne certifications for all areas of the data center including cloud computing, servers, storage, networking, business software, and more. Learn more about the HP ExpertOne program and the requirements for each of the certifications available Here.

Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA)

The RHCA is Red Hat’s highest level of certification and has grown 25 percent in the last three months. The requirements for this certification are extensive. You must have a current RHCE certification along with Red Hat Certificates of Expertise in Deployment and Systems Management, Directory Services and Authentication or Red Hat Certified Virtualization Administrator, Clustering and Storage Management, Security: Network Services or Server Hardening, and Performance Tuning. Learn more about the RHCA certification Here.

What certifications do you predict will be the most in-demand? Let us know!

Posted By: Sarah Brown


No comments yet. Be the first!

Your Comment:

*This will not be displayed.